Aisle Talk

Everything Wedding

Why do you love weddings? October 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jamiemae @ 4:52 pm

I think I’ll take the next few posts to help you get to know me. You may ask why I love to work on weddings. (Actually no one asks me that, because everyone thinks it would be the most fun and glamorous job. Let me tell you, it’s not all flowers and dresses) I will answer with two reasons. Beauty and joy. As an artist, I am drawn to all things beautiful. Finding new ways to put colors, textures and shapes together is one of my favorite things about planning weddings. It has been said that the most remembered aspects of a wedding are its food and entertainment. While, I agree that this is true, I would also add the decor, simply because I love to look at pretty things.

And joy. My wedding was certainly the happiest day of my life. It sounds cliche, but that’s just because almost everyone feels the same way and thus says the same thing. I remember when our photographer was taking pictures of our rings on our hands and she told me, “Jamie, you don’t have to smile right now”. My response was, “I can’t help it!” Everyone seems to be looking for love. When you find it and you know that person is promising to love you for the rest of his life and will always be there for you, the power of the joy that gives you is contagious. The bride and groom are happy, their families are happy, their friends are happy. It is such a wonderful atmosphere. Now, I want you to notice one thing. I started this paragraph with the word ‘joy’ not ‘happiness’. That’s because I think those words are slightly different. Joy is the decision to be content and loving, even when you aren’t particularly happy. So, when that bridesmaid just can’t stand it that she still doesn’t have a boyfriend, she’ll be happy for the bride and be there for her, anyway. At least, that’s the theory.

The inspiration board at the top of this post is an example of my love for beauty, created for the fall. Click on the image to enlarge it.

 

Leave a Reply

